ARRL Foundation NW Division Scholarships

Youth are the future of amateur radio, so every year the ARRL Foundation awards over a million dollars in scholarships to deserving amateur radio licensed students There are a total of four scholarships available only to Northwestern Division students! They are listed below, with information regarding requirements for the specific scholarship:

 Applications for the 2020 ARRL Foundation scholarship program will be accepted between  September 1, 2019 and 11:59PM Eastern Standard Time December 31, 2019.  Transcripts must be received by Thursday, February 13, 2020. More than 90 scholarships ranging from $500 to $5,000 are awarded through the ARRL Foundation scholarship program. Here is a list of scholarships that are associated specifically with the ARRL Northwestern Division:

The William Bennett, W7PHO, Memorial Scholarship

  • Award Amount: $500
  • Number of Awards: 1 per year
  • License Requirement: General Class or higher
  • Field of study: any
  • Institution: Four year college college or university
  • Other: GPA of 3.0 or better for an ongoing course of study

Mary Lou Brown Scholarship

  • Award amount: $2,500
  • Number of awards: Multiple per year as funds permit
  • License Requirement: General Class, or higher
  • Field of Study: Bachelor’s Degree or higher, GPA 3.0 or higher
  • Institution: Any
  • Other: Demonstrated interest in promoting the Amateur Radio Service

Louis Manley, K7LMZ, and Randall Pitchford, WW7ZZ Scholarship

  • Award Amount: $1,000 
  • Number of Awards: 1 per year 
  • License Requirement: Active Technician Class or higher 
  • Region: ARRL Northwestern Division (Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Montana, Alaska), with preference given to residents of Oregon 
  • Field of Study: Sciences, Technology, Engineering or Mathematics fields 
  • Institution: Any accredited 2- or 4-year college or university 
  • Other: (none)

The Wilse Morgan, WX7P, Memorial ARRL Northwestern Division Scholarship

  • Award amount: $1,000
  • Number of awards: 1
  • License Requirement: General Class or higher
  • Field of Study: Engineering, Medicine, Science, or Business
  • Institution: Any
  • Other: Preference to applicants with 3.0 GPA or higher for the academic year immediately prior to application (high school or college).

The Joel R. Miller, W7PDX, and Martha C. Miller STEM Scholarship

  • Award Amount: $1,000
  • Number of Awards: 1 per year 
  • License Requirement: Active Technician Class or higher 
  • Region: ARRL Northwestern Division (Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon or Washington) 
  • Field of Study: Associate’s or higher degree in the fields of Science, Technology, Engineering, or Mathematics.
  • Institution: Accredited post-secondary institution 
    Other:  3.0 GPA or higher

There are many other ARRL Foundation scholarships that do not have specific geographical requirements:

ARRL General Fund Scholarship

Baulch Scholarhship

Bendicksen Scholarship

Buckner Scholarship

Cebik Scholarship

Challenge Met Scholarship

Dayton Amateur Radio Association Scholarship

Friend Scholarship

Goldthorpe Scholarship

Green Scholarship

Huettl Scholarship

Rieboff Scholarship

Carole J Stretter Scholarship

Robert and Donna Streeter Scholarship

Thorpe Scholarship

Weatherford Scholarship

Winscott Scholarship

YASME Scholarship

NOTE: For specific information for a particular scholarship, please check the ARRL Foundation Website page: